Welcome & One Year “Runiversary”

ImageSo this weekend, I am coming up on my one year “runiversary” of my first big race, Disney’s Princess Half Marathon. While I am sad that I could not attend the race this year, it made me incredibly reflective of my journey thus far. On the early morning of February 26th, 2012 I remember feeling incredibly nervous and anxious as I was about to run 13.1 miles. While I was active in sports in middle school (soccer and gymnastics), I quit when I entered high school. I was always chubby, but I quickly packed on the pounds throughout high school and college. It wasn’t until the late spring of 2011 that I decided I needed a change in my life. A friend was talking about running the Disney Princess Half Marathon. As odd as this may sound, I decided I needed something to do with my spare time and began to train. I started with the Couch to 5k program and started nine months of incredibly challenging and hard work. While I wasn’t fully prepared for the half that February morning, I finished and found a love for running and healthy living. Flash forward, a year later, and I now have 3 halfs, 2 ten milers, a 10K, and countless 5Ks under my belt. I also have halfs 4-14 planned so far this year along with some other races and have gone on a journey to complete a half marathon in all 50 states. I wanted to start a blog to document this journey and after gaining some inspiration from other bloggers I hope to someday inspire someone to lead a healthy and fit lifestlye.

 

One thought on “Welcome & One Year “Runiversary”

  1. Pingback: So I started a running blog… | One Mile A Day

Leave a Reply

